Home Courts


Fast Overview of NJ Courts

Fast Overview of NJ Courts

The legal infrastructure made up of New Jersey (NJ) courts can be accessed at the NJ Courts Online website set up by the State Government for the purpose of providing information to residents of the State and other people who have reason, whether as plaintiffs, defendants, or in some other function, to be concerned with the NJ courts system. 
In all, according to the overview of NJ courts as is provided on the NJ Courts Online site, the New Jersey judiciary system is responsible for processing and hearing, in some form and through some kind of legal action, around seven million cases on a yearly basis. 
Moreover, the NJ courts system has been empowered to hear legal matters related to a wide array of possible subject matters as could be subject to the legal system. To this end, people can refer to the NJ Courts Online site for information on domestic disputes and other family-related matters, traffic violations, the disposal of property, whether they are heirs or otherwise, and criminal law proceedings, among other possible concerns for the NJ courts system. 
In terms of the place of the NJ courts in the United States State-based legal system as a whole, the NJ Courts Online system holds that it represents one of the more simply set-up and constructed legal systems in the nation. 
In this regard, NJ courts come in fewer categories and types than can be the case elsewhere, including Municipal NJ courts, the Tax NJ court, the NJ State Superior Court, the State Supreme Court, and Appellate Division NJ Courts. 

8 Divisions of the DC Superior Court

8 Divisions of the DC Superior Court

The DC Superior Court is formally known as the Superior Court for the District of Columbia. The DC Superior Court is the local trial court for the District of Columbia which has jurisdiction over cases involving violations of criminal and civil law. Additional areas of jurisdiction for the DC Superior Court include special cases of family court, disputes between landlords and tenants, probate law, tax law, and traffic offenses. 
If an appeal is filed against a ruling of the DC Superior Court, it is handled by the District of Columbia Court of Appeals. 
The DC Superior Court was established as a court of general jurisdiction for the District of Columbia by an Act of the United States in 1970. The sitting members of the DC Superior Court include a chief judge and 61 associate judges, as well as the service of 24 magistrate judges and retired judges who have become senior judges. 
When the Government must become involved in proceedings that take place in DC Superior Court, the Government is represented by either the Office of the United States Attorney for the District of Columbia or the District of Columbia Office of the Attorney General.
There are eight divisions of the DC Superior Court. These divisions are:
· The Civil Division,
· The Criminal Division,
· The Family Court Operations Division,
· The Domestic Violence Unit,
· The Tax Division,
· The Probate Division or Office of the Register of Wills,
· The Family Court 00 Social Services Division,
· The Multi-Door Dispute Resolution Division, and
· The Special Operations Division.

Res Judicata

Writ of Mandamus