Home District Court

District Court

US District Court Easy Overview

US District Court Easy Overview

In the United States, the first court level of the Federal judicial system is the U.S. District Court, followed by the Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court. When a Federal violation is being heard in court, the court proceedings will occur in one of the U.S. District Courts. 
The United States District Court is a trial court that handles both criminal and civil cases. In the U.S. District Court, Federal cases are heard, and subsequently a jury delivers a verdict on these cases. Defendants will then be sentenced appropriately. When United States citizens are selected for jury duty they may potentially serve on a jury within a District Court. 
Following a trial in a District Court, a defendant may request that the verdict be reviewed by the Court of Appeals, and in some instances, the verdict will be overturned. 
There are many different U.S. District Courts located in states throughout the country. As a result, an individual who is required to appear in court will have reasonable access to a District Court. There are numerous legal violations that may be addressed in a District Court.
Any offense that involves the violation of Federal laws will fall under the jurisdiction of the United States District Court, as opposed to local or State courts. The list of potential Federal offenses is extensive. For example, mail theft, illegal immigration, securities fraud, possession of an illegal substance, cyber crimes, and embezzlement are all examples of Federal crimes. 
In addition, assault and murder can be Federal crimes, depending on who is involved, where the events occur, and the surrounding circumstances. Therefore, U.S. District Courts address a wide range of different cases. 

What You Need to Know About The Federal District Court

What You Need to Know About The Federal District Court

Federal district courts often act as the first phase of criminal trials in the United States. A case that involves a Federal offense will be carried out in a Federal district court. Subsequently, the case may move to the United States Court of Appeals, and in some instances, even the Supreme Court. However, in many cases, a verdict that is delivered in a Federal district court is not taken to an appellate court. 
Federal district courts are trial courts that hear all types of cases surrounding Federal offenses, including both criminal and civil violations. The district court has the authority and jurisdiction to preside over most Federal cases, though some limits have been set by Congress. The Federal district court system depends upon a group of individuals, known as a jury, to listen to and review the case and subsequently deliver an appropriate verdict. The number of individuals who comprise a jury varies from one case to another. 
There are more than 90 Federal district courts situated in various locations throughout the United States. The country is divided into a number of different regions or districts. There are 11 different districts, each of which contains three or more states. There is at least one court located in each State, with some states possessing more than one district court.
Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia also have independent district courts, as do a number of the United States’ territories, including the Marina Islands, Guam, and the Virgin Islands. Federal violations that occur in these locations will be tried in the local Federal district court.

Res Judicata

Writ of Mandamus