Home Court Title 28 In Depth Look

Title 28 In Depth Look

Title 28 In Depth Look

Title 28 is a regulatory portion of the Federal Statutory law or United States Code that governs and oversees the Federal judicial system. Title 28 is divided into 6 parts. Each section is responsible for enforcing the organizational and procedural efforts of the Federal judicial system in the United States. In addition, the judiciary procedure is enforced based on the functions of the various legal aids involved in the courts.

Title 28 is broken down into the following subsections:
· Part 1: The Organization of the Courts
· Part II: Department of Justice
· Part III: Court Officers and Employees
· Part IV: Jurisdiction and Venue
· Part V: Procedure
· Part VI: Particular Proceedings
Each subsection of Title 28 is composed of various chapters that outline the expected functions and organized procedures of the Federal judicial system. Part I, or the Organization of the Courts, includes provisions of all the Federal court systems in the United States. The Supreme Court, the Courts of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy judges, the United States Court of Federal Claims, the United States Court of Customs and Patent Appeal, and the Court of International Trade are just a few of the courts organized in Part I of Title 28.
Part II of Title 28 establishes the Department of Justice within the Federal judicial system. The Attorney General, the FBI, United States Attorneys, Marshals Service, United States Trustees, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, and Independent Counsels are outlined in Part II of Title 28.
Parts III, IV, and VI govern the Court Officers and Employees, the Jurisdiction and Venue, and the Particular Proceedings associated with the Federal Judicial system, respectively. Part V of Title 28, establishes criminal procedure and the civil procedure for the Federal courts.